Daniel’s Primetime Buzz

A safe place to discuss the happenings on today’s hottest shows

Men In Trees – Taking The Lead

Posted by danielsprimetimebuzz on June 12, 2008

So I must admit. I’m sad and feel a little unfulfilled about the Men In Trees series finale. I mean, if it were just the season finale I’d be fine. I would be patient enough to see next season what Marin and Jack do with the baby and to see if Patrick can win back Annie, but it’s over! That’s it! No more Men in Trees. I feel that I have grown unexpectedly fond of these “Elmo-inians” and I’m really going to miss them every week! In my opinion, ABC made a bad move in canceling the show. Perhaps with more advertisement and a steady schedule, the show would gain many more viewers. I love the action packed dramas as much as anyone, and probably prefer them, but Men In Trees was one of the few shows, that although it wasn’t fast-paced and full of heart-stopping action, it tugged at the heart and got the viewers truly invested in the lives of these great characters. It will definitely be missed by many.

Ok, so let’s talk about the actual finale. Wow, what an ending! Apparently Lynn has returned and dropped off her child as a present to Jack and Marin. The funny thing is, it’s not Jack’s kid, so why would she want to leave her with him and Marin? Of course we’ll never know (sniffle), but one can wonder. The talent show was a nice touch as everyone performed their extremely embarrassing routines. And please allow me to take this opportunity to tell everyone that, although I pretty much enjoy all the Men In Trees characters, there is one in particular that I hate – Celia. She is by far the worst and most annoying character on the show, and I’m not thrilled with Cynthia Stevenson as an actress either. She is cold, cruel, and above all, boring, and I sure won’t miss her on my TV screen next fall.

Ohhhh and poor Patrick. I feel soooo bad for him. I really can’t believe Annie. After months of desperately wanting him back, she spends a few days with Ivan and suddenly has no interest in Patrick anymore!? Uh….that’s a little unrealistic. I mean, I understand why Annie likes Ivan…he’s more attractive than Patrick and a lot less goofy. But then again, Annie is goofy and not so attractive, so there you go: Patrick and Annie belong together. Haha, I’m kidding, sort of. And ok, I know they are very different than each other, but I really like Jane and Sam. They win for cutest couple. Haha. I love the way they work out their polar differences and still love each other in the end.

Ok, so in closing, I have one question. What the heck happened to Cash? Did I miss something where he left town, because he’s been MIA since his operation. It would have been nice to see him in the finale.

Ok, well anyway, this blog is less about what I have to say and more about what you have to say, so please, leave your comments and let us know what you’re thinking. And be sure to come back on Tuesday where we talk about what happens with that crazy Bachelorette and her boys. Also on Tuesday, we discuss the results of week 3 of the Mole. Have a great week everybody!  And good-bye Elmo!

8 Responses to “Men In Trees – Taking The Lead”

  1. […] Daniel’s Primetime Buzz created an interesting post today on Men In Trees – Taking The LeadHere’s a short outlineI love the action packed dramas as much as anyone, and probably prefer them, but Men In Trees was one of the few shows, that although it wasn’t … She is cold, cruel, and above all, boring, and I sure won’t miss her on my TV screen next fall…. […]

  2. Lolly_Lou said

    Just curious: you mentioned the part about Lynn dropping off her baby. Was there an alternate version of the episode aired somewhere? The version I saw didn’t have that at all, so I just wondered. Gorgeous screen shots, by the way. Thanks!

  3. danielsprimetimebuzz said

    Yes, the following day ABC.com posted the episode online, but apparently posted the original episode that was supposed to air before MIT got canceled, which included the Lynn/baby cliffhanger. Apparently, ABC changed the finale once the decision of the cancellation was final, but accidentally posted the original episode online, which is what I watched. Once they discovered this, they immediately replace the online episode with the one aired on TV on Wednesday night.

  4. Got2Luv_MeL said

    I was totally disappointed when I found out this show was cancelled. And that series finale, were the writers kidding? Seriously, nothing about the episode screamed conclusion. Some things were really good, but I felt like the writers only got my hopes up with that episode. I really liked all the characters on the show as well. Annie not getting back with Patrick and staying with gorgeous Ivan… though I highly doubt that was her reason though., was a good choice IMHO. Marin and Jack coming to a middle ground… same with Jane and Sam. I really would’ve liked to see Theresa pregnant so she could get her miracle baby. I liked the conclusion, but there were much disappointments in the episode as well. Everything about the episode was a tease and left me on the edge of my seat wanting more. I’m just mad right now…. TPTB please rethink the cancelling of Men In Trees… I can’t speak for anyone else, but this show will be highly missed.

  5. PatmanRobinForever said

    I was so disappointed upon hearing about the cancellation. I didn’t even know it was cancelled until I read it on TMZ. Apparently, Anne Heche said she was broke and couldn’t afford to pay her deadbeat ex-husband the S14,000+ he demanded for child support because her show got cancelled. I was shocked. Much more about the show’s cancellation than the dough she had to cough up every month.

    Anyway, I was glad to see that at least aired the last few shows, but Annie not getting back with Patrick was a bummer because I think Ivan is a really jerk for backmailing Ben so that he could live with him &Theresa. Spoiled brat!!!
    Jack’s increasing involved with Julia made me mad, but was glad to know that he really loves Marin. If the show had continued on, even thought I love Jack & Marin, I would have loved to see where the “thing” with Cash and Marin could have gone. They had great chemistry. When he left he said he had to go before he did more than kiss her. I was like OMG!!!!! Eeeeeeeeeeeeeee….

    Thanks for the tidbit about Lynn and the baby because I did not see that at all. WTH?!!! Why would she give up her own baby, unless it was Jack’s too.
    Hmmm…I guess we will never know.

  6. kailess said

    Other than the baby being dropped off, were there any other differences in the original ending?

    Even the ending they aired still had the feel of setting the stage for season three. Makes we sad we’ll never see what was next for our Elmo-ians.

  7. danielsprimetimebuzz said

    No, that was the only difference with the two endings.

  8. Anna said

    BRING BACK MEN IN TREES! i live in australia now and they dont play it here and didn’t realise that it was being canceled and they were playing the final in new zealand. I LOVE THIS SHOW to bits everything about it and am totally gutted annie didn’t back with Patrick they should of just done it then everyone would of been happy. Also i didn’t see the baby part either i always hated lyn. THanks for the gorgeous pics

Leave a comment